Request email notification when page changes E-Notify


 Det. Hunt 2

Police Officer of the Year

Detective Roxanne Hunt is the 2016 Pinellas Park Police Officer of the Year. 

Detective Roxanne Hunt began her Law Enforcement career with Pinellas Park in 2001 and has worked Patrol, Vice/Narcotics, and Investigations. Detective Hunt currently works in Special Services where she serves as the agency Police Recruiter, Field Training Officer, and Instructor. She conducts new hire background investigations, departmental staff inspections and handles all surveys for State and Federal Law Enforcement Agencies. Detective Hunt processes all postings, billings, and collections for contracted overtime details. Detective Hunt also serves as the liaison to the Pinellas Park Alumni Association and coordinates the Citizen Police Academy. She also manages awards and is responsible for any additional administrative functions. Detective Hunt was a participant with Shop with a Cop, was critical in coordinating Bark in the Park, was a participant in Holiday in the Park, assists with the volunteers, coordinates the publishing of the agency calendars and promotional materials, and has recruited six members to our agency in 2016.

Detective Hunt currently serves on the Crisis Intervention Team Board, SPC Trust Advisory Board, SESPSI Advisory Board, the Pinellas Park Wellness Committee, and previously served for three years as Treasurer of the Florida Homicide Investigators’ Association.

Detective Hunts awards include national recognition to her dedication to volunteering and Community Policing from President George W. Bush in 2001, Letter of Merit in 2015 and 2016, Distinguished Service Award in 2008 and 2011, multiple Performance Recognition Awards, Employee of the Quarter in 2008, and has been nominated for Police Officer of the Year in years 2010, 2013, 2015, and 2016.

Detective Hunt holds a B.A. Degree in Criminology from the University of South Florida and a M.A. Degree in Liberal Studies from Fort Hays State University. She balances her life with working out and on projects to improve her home.
On top of the vast assignments and responsibilities given to Detective Hunt, she is always willing to lend a helping hand to her fellow officers. Both nominations she received for this reward were from personnel that have benefited from her “can-do” attitude.

In the months leading up to November, Det Hunt took and spearheaded a project on her own volition. This past November, our department participated in our first “No Shave November.” This was a fundraiser event where interested employees were permitted to either grow beards for males or paint their nails purple for females. Detective Hunt saw this event through the proposal, implementation, and successful completion where we raised over $6,000 for the American Cancer Society as an Agency.

Detective Hunt’s integrity, service, professionalism, and dedication are exampled through her hard work since starting her career at this agency. She is a staple to our department who tackles all challenges in her daily job with the same enthusiasm. Her communication and coordinating skills shine through each day in every task she performs. It is this type of hard work and dedication that makes her stand out from the others and makes her a perfect selection for Officer of the Year.

Congratulations Detective Hunt  

Past Officer of the Year Award Recipients: 

2016 Detective Roxanne Hunt
2015 Officer Jimmy Rexroad
2014 Corporal Scott Galley
2013 Detective Dave Plageman
2012 Lieutenant Adam Geissenberger
2011 Officer Steve Vangeli (Retired)
2010 Detective Michael Piacenza
2009 Detective E. J. Stevens (Retired)
2008 Sergeant Dean LoBianco
2007 Sergeant Michael Lynch
2006 Corporal Michael Bingnear
2005 Lieutenant Paul Andrews (retired)
2004 Captain Brian Unmisig
2003 Corporal Vernard "Rick" Wagner (retired)
2002 Officer James Bupp (retired)
2001 Officer Brian Cook
2000 Officer Craig Heneveld (retired)
1999  OfficerJohn McNeil (retired)
1998  Officer Robert A. Cook (retired)
1997 Sergeant Tracey Schofield (retired)
1996 Officer James P. Young (retired)
1995 Chief Michael Haworth
1994 Captain Michael Darroch
1993 Detective Kathleen Nover (retired)
1992 Detective Corporal Kenneth Blessing (retired)
1991 Master Police Officer James Trehy (retired)
1990 Officer Robert Miller (retired)
1989 Officer Nicholas Delgrosso (retired)
1988 Chief Dorene Thomas (Retired)
1987 Officer Winifred Ray Collins (retired)
1986 Sergeant Orville Hall (retired)
1985 Senior Police Officer Robert W. Cook (retired)
1984 Officer Daniel Hansen (retired)
1983 Officer Charles Prichard (retired)
1982 Captain John Green (retired)
1981 Captain Erik Sandvik (retired)
1980 Officer Frederick Jenkins (retired)
1979 Officer Frederick Jenkins (retired)
1978 Officer Richard Smith (retired)