Pinellas Park City Council Service Awards

Pinellas Park Councilmember, Rick Butler, Is One of the Longest Consecutively Sitting Elected Officials Currently Serving in Pinellas County  


PINELLAS PARK – On Thursday, April 13, 2023 at the City of Pinellas Park’s Council meeting, Councilmember Rick Butler was presented with his 25 year service award – making him the second longest serving city elected official within Pinellas County currently.


Councilman Butler has been a dedicated civil servant and community leader for a quarter of a century. His passions range from the arts to helping the underserved and the underprivileged. He is a true visionary when it comes to community needs. He led the charge with the establishment of the Pinellas Arts Village complete with the opportunity for incubator business space and a live/work component for artists. He has served on various boards such as the Homeless Leadership Alliance, the Boys and Girls Club and the Affordable Housing Committee to name a few.  Further, he was appointed by the Governor to serve on the Juvenile Welfare Board where he has been a steadfast advocate for children and their families, especially those residing in mid-Pinellas County, and he strongly supports the efforts and initiatives of JWB’s Mid-County Community Council.


Councilmembers Jerry Mullins and Keith V. Sabiel were also recognized at Thursday’s meeting for their years of service to the City of Pinellas Park. Councilman Mullins received his 15 year service award and Councilman Sabiel received his 5 year service award. 


“I have certainly seen a lot of change in my 25 years on City Council,” said Councilman Butler. “It has been an honor to serve in the community where I grew up and a pleasure to have been able to help shape Pinellas Park into what it is today – a city that has virtually something for everyone. We have beautiful parks, great cultural events, a thriving business community and there are still more great things to come.  I’m glad to have been a part of it all,” concluded Butler.

Service Awards