Officer Of The Year

Congratulations Detective Hurt

Detective Hurt received nominations for Officer of the Year from four department employees.

These nominations reflected on many aspects of her job performance, ranging from her investigative skill, to the quality of relationships that she has built with the citizens that she serves.

2020 Police Officer of the Year Detective Hurt

officer hurt

Setting The Example

Detective Hurt is in an assignment that requires her to look into some of the worst acts that one human to do to another.  In the past year, Detective Hurt was called upon to investigate several high profile incidents, to include two officer-involved shootings, and arrests that garnered a high level of media attention regarding Sexual Battery on children and disabled adults, as well as child pornography.  In her cases, Detective Hurt demonstrated a strong work ethic, dedication to her victims, strong bonds with their families, and professionalism with her co-workers and other law enforcement agencies.  Detective Hurt has been recognized for her solid case work and report writing, and has received praise from many for her drive to be sure that justice is served.

Detective Hurt is well respected by all sections of the police department and is always willing to assist others with the vast knowledge that she has accumulated over her career.

Detective Hurt’s performance embodies the agency’s Core Values of Integrity, Service, Professionalism, and Dedication, and these traits are a genuine part of her DNA.  Detective Hurt is an example for all to follow and she is clearly deserving of the title of the 2020 Pinellas Park Police Officer of the Year.

Past Officer of the Year Award Recipients:

  • 2019 Officer Hassett
  • 2018 Officer Per Haugland
  • 2017 Sergeant John Shea
  • 2016 Sergeant Roxanne Pohl
  • 2015 Officer Jimmy Rexroad (retired)
  • 2014 Corporal Scott Galley
  • 2013 Detective Dave Plageman
  • 2012 Captain Adam Geissenberger
  • 2011 Officer Steve Vangeli (Retired)
  • 2010 Detective Michael Piacenza
  • 2009 Detective E. J. Stevens (Retired)
  • 2008 Sergeant Dean LoBianco
  • 2007 Sergeant Michael Lynch
  • 2006 Corporal Michael Bingnear
  • 2005 Lieutenant Paul Andrews (retired)
  • 2004 Captain Brian Unmisig
  • 2003 Corporal Vernard "Rick" Wagner (retired)
  • 2002 Officer James Bupp (retired)
  • 2001 Officer Brian Cook
  • 2000 Officer Craig Heneveld (retired)
  • 1999 Officer John McNeil (retired)
  • 1998 Officer Robert A. Cook (retired)
  • 1997 Sergeant Tracey Schofield (retired)
  • 1996 Officer James P. Young (retired)
  • 1995 Chief Michael Haworth
  • 1994 Captain Michael Darroch (retired)
  • 1993 Detective Kathleen Nover (retired)
  • 1992 Detective Corporal Kenneth Blessing (retired)
  • 1991 Master Police Officer James Trehy (retired)
  • 1990 Officer Robert Miller (retired)
  • 1989 Officer Nicholas Delgrosso (retired)
  • 1988 Chief Dorene Thomas (Retired)
  • 1987 Officer Winifred Ray Collins (retired)
  • 1986 Sergeant Orville Hall (retired)
  • 1985 Senior Police Officer Robert W. Cook (retired)
  • 1984 Officer Daniel Hansen (retired)
  • 1983 Officer Charles Prichard (retired)
  • 1982 Captain John Green (retired)
  • 1981 Captain Erik Sandvik (retired)
  • 1980 Officer Frederick Jenkins (retired)
  • 1979 Officer Frederick Jenkins (retired)
  • 1978 Officer Richard Smith (retired)